(360) 943-9198 info@retailassociation.org

Election this year begins to churn the Legislature

As most state legislators face re-election this year, some are beginning to announce other plans.

This is a year that the entire 98-member House of Representatives faces election while half the Senate terms expire at the end of the year and will be decided in the November election.

So far, a few state lawmakers have announced they will not seek re-election.

They are:

  • Rep. Jay Rodney, R-Snoqualmie. Former Rep. Chad Magendanz has said he will run for the 5th District seat.
  • Rep. Melanie Stambaugh, R-Puyallup, who will step down after two, two-year terms.
  • Sen. Michael Baumgartner, R-Spokane, will instead run for Spokane County Treasurer. Baumgartner said he will endorse Rep. Jeff Holy, R-Cheney, to fill his Senate seat.
  • Rep. Larry Haler, R-Richland, has said he will retire when his term ends this year.
  • Other late-breaking announced departures include Rep. Terry Nealey of Dayton, Rep. Liz Pike of Fern Prairie, and Rep. Dan Kristiansen of Snohomish, all Republicans.

Candidates have until May 18 to declare whether they will run for election to the Legislature.

Print Friendly
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>